Biscuits & Gravy…sort of

29 Mon, 2010 § 3 Comments

Good morning!

I have been trying to find ways to get in more protein for breakfast, so dinner leftovers have come in handy.

It reminded me of a sort of vegan biscuits & gravy…& it was too simple.

Ezekial english muffins, toasted & buttered with Earth Balance

Leftover lentil stew, warmed

A couple dollops of cashew cream

Lentil Stew

  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • ¼ cup onion, chopped [I was out but think it would be a nice addition]

Saute in a small saucepan in EVOO over medium heat until fragrant.

  • 1 cup lentils, rinsed
  • ¼ tsp paprika
  • ¼ tsp cumin
  • ½ tsp pasta toss spice [basil, oregano, sun-dried tomatoes, garlic]
  • dash nutmeg
  • dash sea salt
  • jarred/canned tomatoes, drained [I used a half quart of my mom’s]
  • 1 tsp molasses
  • 1 tsp carob

Combine with garlic & saute ~1 minute.

  • juice from jarred tomatoes + water = 2 cups

Add liquid & bring to boil.  Reduce heat & simmer until lentils are soft & cooked, ~50 minutes.

This thick stew was tasty & warming after bouldering in the cold, but it was missing a little something.  I stirred in a couple dollops of cashew cream.  Mmm.

I loved it even more the next morning.

~

I am rediscovering lentils.  What is your favorite way to make them?

Tagged: ,

§ 3 Responses to Biscuits & Gravy…sort of

  • Tes says:

    I love your lentil stew. It looks so warm and comforting. It sounds delicious over biscuits 🙂

    • Allie says:

      Thank you. It really is. I’m completely intrigued by your dill recipe with eggplant! I even have half an eggplant in the fridge…hmm…now I just need fresh dill.

  • Natalie says:

    I love lentils! I’ve never eaten them for breakfast (yet) as I’m always a sweet v. savory person, but may go out on a limb and try something new. I’ll let you know when (if???) I do 🙂

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Biscuits & Gravy…sort of at ARoadMoreBalanced.

meta

