My Moments & Homemade Curry Spice

10 Fri, 2011 § 4 Comments

I may not be expressing myself here daily, but it does not mean I am without expression or depth lately.

I have been spending a lot of time in my head, twirling thoughts, opinions, ideas, emotions…around the finger of my mind.  It’s not even that I don’t know how to articulate them, though often that’s part of it.  Sometimes, we’d rather just experience the moment rather than focus on expressing — or re-expressing — it.  I guess I am just into feeling these experiences right now & sharing what might arise from them when it feels natural, rather than trying to force it.

How I have been spending my time isn’t a result of “being in my head”; it’s when I do these things that thoughts, emotions & new dimensions arise within.

Much of my days have been spent moving (meaning climbing, swimming, biking, etc), baking, grinding spices, making gifts & reading.

I am content to simply live in these moments & see what arises from them.

I hope you are also truly living just as much as you are sharing & expressing part of your life & yourself here with us.

~

Homemade Curry Powder

makes ~1/4 cup

  • 2 tsp peppercorns (I used a mix of green, pink & black)
  • 2 tsp coriander seeds
  • 1 tsp fenugreek seeds
  • 1 tsp cumin seed
  • 1 tsp fennel seed
  • 2 tsp ground turmeric
  • 2 tsp ground ginger
  • 1/2 tsp cayenne
  • seeds from 4 cardamom pods, gently crack & remove seeds from pods (save pods for flavoring tea, ice cream, pudding or yogurt)
  • 2 whole cloves

In a clean, dry pan over medium-low to medium heat, toast each spice individually until fragrant & a few wisps of smoke rise.  Gently shake the pan often (or the whole time) so the spices toast evenly & do not burn.  Each spice should only take 1 – 2 minutes to toast.  Set each spice aside to cool slightly.  Combine the toasted spices in a spice or coffee grinder (I use the chop attachment on my Magic Bullet, which works perfectly) & pulse until a fine powder forms.

Play around with the spice combination to find what you love best.  If you are not in love with fennel like I am, reduce the amount.  If you would like a hotter curry, add more cayenne.  Make it yours, & I promise,  you will love it so much more than any powdered curry you have bought from the store.

~

p.s. What is on your Summer reading list?  Suggestions please?  I am recently enamored with Margaret Atwood & just finished Oryx & Crake as well as The Year of the Flood.  I appreciate authors who use their work to make bold social statements.  I need to stop by the library again soon.

Tagged: , , , , ,

§ 4 Responses to My Moments & Homemade Curry Spice

  • Yum, I love curry, but have never thought to make it myself. I bet this would be a great excuse to use my mortar and pestle though.

    • Allie says:

      Pull out that mortar & pestle! I generally like to grind my spices by hand, but wasn’t sure how much work that would be with the peppercorns (I also get a little nervous about turmeric staining it or leaving a permanent hint of taste. I know, I’m being melodramatic). Let me know how easily they grind up for you & if you enjoy making your own. 🙂

  • Natalie says:

    Homemade curry? Yes please! I have a mortar and pestle that doesn’t get as much use as it should 😉

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading My Moments & Homemade Curry Spice at ARoadMoreBalanced.

meta

