Turkish Get Ups {Video}

29 Fri, 2011 § 5 Comments

(We’ve been having fun with Dave’s iPhone camera)

Dave recently introduced me to

the Turkish Get Up

with 25# bar

[I also practiced with the 45# bar, which required a bit of grunt — good grunt though.]

I like them!  Core intensive.  Full Body.  Static.

It’s all in form & how you hold your body & use your arm & knee to stabilize as you roll up to sitting, to kneeling, to standing, then reverse the movements.  You could also do these with a kettle bell, but then you lose some of the lateral stabilization the long bar offers.  Keep the bar high & your arm engaged.  *(update) Also, articulate through the spine as you lay back down, really engaging your deep core muscles.  I think about making each vertebrae, especially in my low back, touch the mat as I “roll” back down.

I am just trying to figure out how to work them into workouts.  Any suggestions?

Tagged: , , ,

§ 5 Responses to Turkish Get Ups {Video}

  • kristastes says:

    Girl, you are a rockstar! I do those but only with a 15-lb kettlebell. I would love to work up to a heavier weight and try the bar!!

  • Natalie says:

    You’re awesome! P.S. Your shoulders/back muscles look amazing, girl. I love the videos…keep posting 🙂

    • Allie says:

      Wow, thanks. I feel pretty lucky with how my back develops & wish everything else followed as easily. Guess it’s all that climbing! I can’t wait till you are sharing videos too!

  • Allie says:

    *I also should have mentioned I like to really articulate through the spine as I lay back down. I think about making each vertebrae, especially in my low back, touch the mat as I “roll” back down. I will update this in the post as well.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Turkish Get Ups {Video} at ARoadMoreBalanced.

meta

