Burpee to Pull Up [Video]

22 Fri, 2011 § 6 Comments

One of my new, favorite moves.

Though the jump gives you some help with the pull up, this is still exhausting.

I like my burpees to be more dynamic than this & have a little more “pop” from the push up into the squat.  I also want to work on jumping from the squat into the pull up more quickly, rather than pausing to establish my footing.  Dave recorded me doing 8 of these after my workout last Sunday, so I am going to blame the lack of “oomph” on fatigue. 😉

Every day we push ourselves we get stronger, right?!

I like to do 3 sets of 10, which is fatiguing.  Even more fatiguing is doing these as intervals like below.

Tuesday Morning HIIT

  • Burpee to Pull Up : 10 sec rest; 30 sec max – 6 rounds = 4 minutes
  • Hamstring Curls on yoga ball: 30 sec; 10 sec “rest” SWITCH TO Ball Pikes: 30 seconds – continue alternating 6 rounds = 3 xs each = 4 minutes
  • Side Lying One-Arm Tricep Press Ups: 20 sec alternating each arm, no rests – 6 rounds = 6 xs each side = 4 minutes
  • Hanging Knee Raises: 20 sec then Mt Climbers: 20 sec (no rests) – 6 rounds = 6 xs each = 4 minutes.
Tagged: , , ,

§ 6 Responses to Burpee to Pull Up [Video]

  • Damn girl! I am seriously impressed and inspired to hit the gym!

    • Allie says:

      Thanks! I have actually thought, “Faith can totally do these.” With your pilates & dance background & the few pics you’ve posted, I know your form rocks too! (You remind me to stay mindful of my form & inspire me to push it!)

  • ashley says:

    i’ve been off and on sick all week (great for studying for my marathon finals coming up–ugh!!) and decided to try a light 20 minute workout to get my blood going a little bit. i tried this and had to laugh because my PU bar at home is over the door frame–guess what…when you jump up you push the bar off the door! 🙂 the fact that i actually tried that before realizing that would happen does not bode well for my exams.

    • Allie says:

      Oh no, the screws in your brain are turning loose with all the overloaded studying. Guess you better go back to CR for a break — or to AZ. 😉 Sorry I am laughing a bit at your expense; I am just imagining you pulling the bar from the door. 😀

  • Natalie says:

    Um, those are a little crazy…and I love it! I’m incorporating them this week 🙂

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Burpee to Pull Up [Video] at ARoadMoreBalanced.

meta

