Unplug

21 Thu, 2011 § 3 Comments

All of the techy capabilities we have now-a-days are amazing &, of course, I love the blogging community & other social media like Facebook.  When we are here, let’s be here.  Let’s share recipes & ideas about lifestyle, health, fitness & whatever else suits our fancy.  Let’s be engaged in active discussions, make friends & enrich each others life though we may never meet.

When we aren’t here though, let’s be wherever it is we are.  Go for a nice walk & leave your phone behind — & stop texting when you are with your friend at the coffee shop or on a date for goodness sake!  Facebook won’t collapse if you don’t check it every hour.  You don’t have to Tweet every thought.  Conquering Angry Birds won’t make us like you more.  😉

Connect with someone face to face, with nature or simply with yourself.

[photo by David Finch]

Adbuster dares you to unplug & see what happens.  I challenge us all to step back & evaluate our digital “addictions”.  I will be completely unplugged part of this week [though I have a short video & workout scheduled to post tomorrow].  You don’t have to do an extreme digital detox & swear it all off; determine the permanent changes you could make for a happier, healthier, more connected you.

~

Tagged: , ,

§ 3 Responses to Unplug

  • Stef says:

    I love love love the message you have posted here. People have become to dependent on technology that they seem to have such limited social interactions that happen face to face. It never ceases to amaze me by the amount of friends you see “hanging” out wherever together, but yet they are all separately on their cell phones tweeting, texting, & not communicating with one another face to face. Face to face interactions seem to have become a dying art, perhaps talking as a whole as well. For myself, I’m not big on texting & even have it blocked from my phone. I would rather have a 2 min conversation w/someone to chat about whatever, than text & take up my time figuring out the word combos to get them a message.

    Anyway, I am excited to hear about your camping break & I too will be heading into the backcountry this wkend & am looking very forward to it! Peace, Happiness & safe climbs/travels to you both!

    • Allie says:

      Stef! It’s good to hear from you again. 🙂 I hope you enjoyed your weekend into the backcountry & every thing is going well for you.

  • […] we thoroughly enjoyed…last Tuesday through Sunday.  I prepped a couple posts, hit schedule, unplugged & lost myself in the desert for 5 […]

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Unplug at ARoadMoreBalanced.

meta

