Roasted `Caps with Sun-Dried Tomato Aioli

25 Fri, 2011 § 10 Comments

It is officially Spring, but she keeps dancing with Winter.

While I am starting to crave lighter & greener foods, I still want something I can sink my teeth into.

Can a dish be light & hearty simultaneously?

That doesn’t make sense, but maybe you know what I mean.

This open-face is just that meal.

It is also quite effortless.

Rub a couple portobell caps with olive oil & roast, round-side down, in the oven at 400*F for 8 – 10 minutes until soft.  Toast a couple slices of artisan bread: ciabatta or focaccia would be nice; we used a delicious sea salt & rosemary loaf from a local bread bakery.  Next come the greens.  I topped my toast with radicchio [the mushroom & aioli mellowed the greens, which complemented the sandwich really well!].  Dave used a milder, winter green mix.  Set your roasted cap on top of the greens & dust lightly with garlic powder [or rub garlic over your caps before roasting].  Dave melted a little French cheese over his cap [a cross between cheddar & parmesan].  Finally, top your cap with sun-dried tomato aioli.

Sun-Dried Tomato Aioli

[enough for 2 – 4 sandwiches]

Take ~12 sun-dried tomatoes & soak for 10 minutes if not already soft.  If they were stored in oil, rinse & squeeze of excess water.  Put in a food processor & chop well.  Add ~3 big spoonfuls of Vegenaise & pulse until combined well & at desired consistency.  Add 1/2 tsp dried oregano & a pinch of sea salt.  Pulse again.  Too easy! Adjust measurements according to your taste.

All that was missing on my sandwich were a couple slices of bacon avocado.  If you can get your hands on one, do it.  They are smooth & buttery; with just a little sea salt, they are heavenly over mochi waffles or toast.  Alas, my avocado was not quite ripe.

On my side: asparagus from our CSA, roasted perfectly with olive oil & sea salt at 400*F for about 10 – 12 minutes, tossing often.  Even Dave — the asparagus hater — said they turned out.  Score!

Off to bed because I have to work bright & early. 😦  It’s for a good cause though.  And it’s all fun & surprises after that!

Enjoy your weekend. 🙂

~

What are your Spring-Winter transition cravings?

Tagged: , , , , , ,

§ 10 Responses to Roasted `Caps with Sun-Dried Tomato Aioli

  • […] Roasted `Caps with Sun-Dried Tomato Aioli (via ARoadMoreBalanced) Posted on March 26, 2011 by My Grandparents' Kitchen It is officially Spring, but she keeps dancing with Winter. While I am starting to crave lighter & greener foods, I still want something I can sink my teeth into. Can a dish be light & hearty simultaneously? That doesn’t make sense, but maybe you know what I mean. This open-face is just that meal. It is also quite effortless. Rub a couple portabella caps with olive oil & roast, round-side down, in the oven at 400*F for 8 – 10 minutes … Read More […]

  • Recipe Chefs says:

    I love food, and I really enjoy reading your blog very much thank you for sharing this post. Feel free to check out our recipes.

    A Creamy Herb Chicken Recipe

  • Christine says:

    This looks delicious!! I think I might try this one, only roasting the mushroom on the grill. Asparagus on the grill is amazing as well. Thanks for this one – it’s a perfect spring/summer meal! 🙂

  • Julia says:

    Allie this looks amazing! I always forget how much I enjoy portabella mushrooms, this was a great reminder, and a great spring recipe. If only this rain would stop!

  • Natalie says:

    I crave asparagus in the Spring and lots of fresh, seasonal fruit. Of course, it snowed here today, so all I really wanted was a big ‘ole bowl of soup 🙂

    I hope work went well today…even for a Saturday!

  • I’m totally drooling. That sounds great…I love roasting veggies, no matter the season, but haven’t ever tried mushrooms for some reason. Thanks for the inspiration!

    • Allie says:

      I don’t think I’ve found a roasted veggie I don’t love either! Never mushrooms though? You should give them a whirl — portobellos are perfect & meaty & delicious. 🙂

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Roasted `Caps with Sun-Dried Tomato Aioli at ARoadMoreBalanced.

meta

