“Gratin”

16 Wed, 2011 § 6 Comments

There is kale galore at our house.

Well, maybe not galore, but after buying a bunch at the store, we got another bundle in our CSA share.

Because Dave does not especially enjoy it, I try to [openly]sneak it in with foods he does love.  I am pretty sure potatoes are one of his favorite vegetables.

I used to be scared of potatoes — ok, I still am a little — even now, I consider them sort of an indulgence.  [I know, it’s weird.]  We don’t have them often, but when we do I am reminded how divine a nicely roasted ‘tater is.  [I kind of hate the word “tater”.]  They may not hit our plates often, but hopefully they turn out yummy enough to fill Dave’s needs…at least to some extent.

Technically, this wouldn’t be a gratin because it doesn’t have a “browned crust” from bread crumbs, cheese or a lot more butter, but the nice crisp skin of the potatoes is enough for me!

Red Potato & Dinosaur [Kale] Gratin

4 small servings

  • 8 – 10 small red potatoes, sliced into ~1/2″ thick rounds
  • 1 leek, sliced thinly into half moons
  • small bunch of kale, stemmed & roughly chopped into bite-sized pieces [~2 cups?]
  • Earth Balance butter
  • mirin or other white cooking wine
  • red pepper flakes
  • lavender salt [optional]
  • chives [optional]
  • Greek yogurt [optional]

Preheat oven to 375*.

Parboil potatoes 5 – 10 minutes until just tender.  Strain & set aside.

In a cast-iron or other oven-safe skillet, heat a small amount of Earth Balance.  Add leeks & saute until tender & translucent, ~ 2 minutes.  Remove & set aside.  Add chopped kale to skillet, adding a splash of mirin & pinch of red pepper flakes crushed between fingers; toss & saute until slightly wilted.  Remove & set aside.

Using the same skillet, coat lightly with the Earth Balance & place one-third of the potatoes in a single layer in the bottom of the pan.  Continue layering as follows: half the kale & leek; half the remaining potatoes [adding a couple tiny dabs of butter if desired]; the rest of the kale & leek; top with final layer of potatoes & more butter if desired.  Cover skillet with foil & place in oven ~30 minutes.  Remove foil & bake 5 – 15 minutes longer, watching closely, until potatoes are lightly browned & crisp. [I turned the broiler on for a couple minutes to crisp them a bit more — watch closely!]

Serve with yogurt, chives & lavender salt.

This was tasty even though it was simple as far as seasonings, so add more or other herbs to suit your taste.  Dave topped his with cheese, which you could even add into the layers for a more indulgent meal.  I loved the slightly crispy potatoes with the occasional bursts of heat from the pepper flakes.  I think Greek yogurt is my favorite potato condiment, plus I needed some protein.  The gratin even kept nicely for lunch/leftovers the next day.  I will play around with the oven temperature & time in the future to perfect the browning/crisping of the potatoes.  I am pretty pleased this worked!

~

How can I sneak the rest of this kale into Dave? 😉

Does anyone else have a difficult time seeing potatoes as “healthy” food?

Tagged: , , , ,

§ 6 Responses to “Gratin”

  • Recipe Chefs says:

    Excellent recipe. Thanks for sharing this post. I really enjoy reading your blog. Feel free to check out our recipes.

  • Natalie says:

    Yummy! This looks delicious. I love potatoes and kale. I always try to camoflauge it with chocolate to feed it to Colin 😉

    I have always thought of potatoes as healthy, particularly because of their short ingredient list…um, potato!

    • Allie says:

      CHOCOLATE! Genius! 😉
      I think I get stuck on the “starch” aspect of the potato…”ah, it’s a “bad carb”…I should take & learn from your perspective. It’s a potato — just a potato.

  • Julia says:

    Maybe you could put the kale in a lasagna or pasta bake or in a whole grain salad?

    As for potatoes, I think of sweet potatoes as healthy, but not really regular potatoes. I chock it up to growing up seeing regular potatoes usually in unhealthy forms – mashed with tons of butter, baked but with loads of toppings, or the ever popular french fry.
    Have a great Friday!

    • Allie says:

      Pasta is always a brilliant solution, especially because you could put almost anything with pasta & I’m sure Dave would eat it — & not always have to pile it with cheese. 😉
      I think my “aversion” to potatoes might stem from similar exposure to it in various…not-so-healthy…forms.
      I hope you have a great Friday too! Enjoy your weekend. 🙂

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading “Gratin” at ARoadMoreBalanced.

meta

