Eating To Know

10 Thu, 2011 § 4 Comments

[inspired by A Terroir-ist’s Manifesto for Eating in Place by Gary Paul Nabhan]

Spring is a reminder to connect with my food & know where it comes from.

To know my food.

To know it by its taste —  to allow its freshness to assure me of its short journey.

To know it by by the hands that harvested & processed it & the land & water which nurtured it.  To know if these were left richer or poorer after I ate from them.

To know it through the stories shared at the table.

To know it through the patience & care taken while peeling, chopping, poaching, fermenting…& arranging the plate just so.  To slowly savor each bite, washing my body with the memories when I first knew each flavor.

The simplest foods often stir up the strongest memories.

~

My mom bottles carrots using the pressure cooker.  We would reheat them over the stove & top with pads of butter, salt & pepper.  Maybe they were not our favorite then, but recently I crave to have those tender bits fall apart in my mouth — not in the tasteless, disintegration of overcooking but melting over my tongue as it absorbs the marinated flavors.

While my mom’s carrots are hundreds of miles away, our recent CSA offering included a bunch of petit carrots.  Steaming thin slices along with chickpeas created the same tenderness without any mushiness or loss of flavor.  A little olive oil & sea salt were all that was needed to accentuate the fresh carrots.

I am getting spring fever in every sense — even in my taste buds.

~

How do you know your food?

Tagged: , , , , , ,

§ 4 Responses to Eating To Know

  • Natalie says:

    I love your childhood story about the carrots. It’s really touching.

    I guess I try to get to know my food by really thinking about where it comes from. Since I do eat some meat/dairy, I like to think of the animal living a happy life and my fruits and veggies actually as plants! I know that sounds weird, but to me it makes me thankful for what I’m eating…and it helps me eat “real” food!

  • Christine says:

    Sounds delicious! I’m getting so excited for spring and fresh veggies as well. By the way, I know you guys are finding a lot of great things in Flag, but it’s garden planning time so let me know if you have any requests this year!

    • Allie says:

      Oh yay, the garden!
      Edamame…scallop squash is a nice addition/change from traditional summer squashes…Dave’s would love any type of peppers…hmm, I’ll keep thinking!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Eating To Know at ARoadMoreBalanced.

meta

