Garlic for Good Measure

7 Mon, 2011 § 2 Comments

I woke to a scratchy throat Friday morning.  Of course, you never wake to this on a Monday. By the end of the work day, I was more than slightly drained, but it hadn’t really hit me yet.  I was determined to beat this.  Even though it was First Friday, I only wanted to relax with a comforting bowl of soup & curl up on the couch.  Cooking this soup was the last thing I really wanted to do, but if I was going to kick this cold before it really hit, I needed to feed my body nourishing food.

Garlic:

My secret immune boosting food.

For good measure, I included plenty of other immune system boosters as well, which I have highlighted just for you!

Creamy Healing Garlic Soup

makes 4 servings

  • 2 bulbs of garlic – that’s right, this is serious soup
  • 2 T Earth Balance butter
  • 2 large leeks, sliced
  • 1 stalk celery, minced
  • ~1 lb sunchokes, chopped into small pieces [you can sub potatoes]
  • 6 C vegetable stock
  • Juice of 1 lemon
  • 1 tsp oregano
  • Fresh ground pepper, to taste
  • Sea salt, to taste
  • 2 shiitake mushrooms, sliced
  • Toasted pumpkin seeds, garnish
  • Truffle oil

Preheat oven to 300*F

Cut tips off of garlic, drizzle with olive oil & wrap in tin foil.

Roast 30 – 45 minutes, until soft & slightly golden.  Allow to cool enough to handle.  Squeeze garlic from each clove & mash with a fork.

In a large pot, sauté leek & celery in butter until soft & the leeks start to caramelize.

Add sunchokes or potatoes, stock, lemon juice, oregano & pepper & bring to a boil.  Reduce to a simmer & cook until sunchokes can be easily pierced with a fork, ~20 minutes.  Stir in mashed garlic.  Allow flavors to blend for a minute or two.  Remove from heat & puree using a handheld blender [or allow to cool enough to transfer to a blender].  Return to pot.  Season with sea salt & adjust liquid/thickness & seasonings to your own preference.

In a skillet, sauté mushrooms in olive oil until soft.

Ladle soup into serving bowls & garnish with shiitake mushrooms & pumpkin seeds & drizzle with truffle oil.

Soup was served with roasted sweet potatoes, half sprinkled with paprika; half with ginger.

~

Determined to go forward with our planned, active weekend, we still climbed Saturday & bouldered Sunday, waking our bodies first with a fun & playful yoga practice centered around Peacock Pose.  We only did yoga Saturday, & I felt so much better, so I did a grounding yin practice this morning with a lot of twists to balance climbing this weekend.  I ended in the most comfortable passive/bolstered back bend, which is supposed to be good for the immune system; here’s hoping!

My thoughts on activity while sick or almost sick: if I have the energy to do it, it usually helps boost my immune system – as long as I don’t overexert myself.  If I don’t have the energy, I rest.

I have also been downing zinc/vitamin C lozenges [I prefer these to “cough drops”], staying hydrated & sipping on warm lemon water with apple cider vinegar & honey.

I feel like I just might beat this thing before it gets me down…if I can overcome the stale office air & stress.

~

How do you ward off an oncoming cold?

Tagged: , , ,

§ 2 Responses to Garlic for Good Measure

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Garlic for Good Measure at ARoadMoreBalanced.

meta

