Waiting on the Shore

1 Tue, 2011 § 5 Comments

My favorite photo from Dave’s trip.

Santa Barbara, CA ~ David Finch

Dave inspires me.  Dave motivates me.

I wanted to work out this morning…but I didn’t want to…& was running out of time anyway.  Even though he took the day off, he offered to drive me to work rather than sleep in.  This gave me a bit more time to fit in a work out — no excuses now, especially after he created this short workout to wake me up too.

Do the following set twice:

  • 2 x Pull Up
  • 2 x Chin Up
  • 2 x Pull Up
  • 2 x Chin Up
  • 10 x Mt. Climbers
  • 10 x Chaturanga Run
  • 10 x Mt. Climbers
  • 10 x Chaturanga Run
  • 25 x Hamstring Curl on yoga ball
  • 10 x Burpees [first set only]
  • 30 X Ball Swings* with 12# medicine ball [second set only]

*like kettlebell swings but with a medicine ball
I completed this in 9:20.  Short & intense.

Cool down consisted of a variation of Sun Salutations through Warrior II, with added tricep push ups before transitioning to downdog; included pigeon pose & ended in Child’s pose.

~

Dave’s photos make me excited for summer traveling.  Do you have any plans for upcoming trips?

Tagged: , ,

§ 5 Responses to Waiting on the Shore

  • Julia says:

    Gorgeous photo of Santa Barbara. I’m glad Dave is back – being away from a spouse is so hard.
    You have got to describe a Chaturunga Run for me 🙂

    • Allie Finch says:

      Hold chaturanga [very tricep intensive] & alternate bringing right knee toward right elbow then left knee toward left elbow [because your elbows are in close to the body, you are not necessarily bringing knee to elbow but knee out to the side of your body. Each side = 1 count. This is basically what I am doing: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SSMzykGsEyA I try not to bounce my butt as much during mt. climbers though.

      • ashley says:

        i was going to ask the same thing….then i looked at this video and laughed because i think i would fall over if i tried to do that. i want to try a chaturanga without the moving leg nonsense though just to say that i did that word…sounds neat 😉 just kidding–you rock and now i’m sure i’ll be trying it and brad will hate you. love you!

  • Julia says:

    Ooh that looks brutal – note to self – try tomorrow!

  • Natalie says:

    What a gorgeous photo! Great workout…I love how Dave plans it for you, that makes it so much more fun. Um, I have a feeling I will be torturing clients (and myself!) with chaturunga runs in the very near future 😉 I’m glad that Dave is back!!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Waiting on the Shore at ARoadMoreBalanced.

meta

