With Style?

18 Fri, 2011 § 2 Comments

I’m lame.

I also have a tendency to procrastinate…especially when I know I am going to be awkward.

A looong while back, I was complimented by a friend I think very highly of — someone I really like.  How could I not be flattered to learn I am Faith’s “kind of style”? 🙂  “Athletic, out-doorsy, wholistic”.  That was nice to hear read, especially after the day I had had.  Allow me to be a little self-centered for a moment [as if this isn’t already one of the main premises having a blog] & revel in this flattery.

Then Julia honored me as well.  Too much from women I love!

Of course, along with any kind of reward comes responsibility…hence the procrastination…which is why I am quite lame & undeserving of their kind acknowledgments:

1. Make a post & link back to the person who awarded you this award. Easily done.

2. Share 7 things about yourself. Ok, I can do this; so I started writing & some of the things that came to mind…well, I guess I needed a little more nerve to share these.  Do I feel any more secure than I did weeks ago?  Nope.  Procrastination warranted then?  Probably not.

3. Award 10 recently discovered great bloggers. Perfect!  I have just the notion in mind.  See below*

4. Contact these bloggers & tell them they’ve won!

Seven Things

1.  I was seven when I learned girls are evil.  In high school, I realized it actually derived from insecurity & not necessarily a maldesign of corruptness.  Either way, for a majority of my life, I have been “one of the guys” & struggled finding female companionship.  As much as I always said, “eh, I just don’t like girls & their drama”…there was a little hole longing to be filled by sincere female friendship.

2.  I hit a pedestrian once.  She was ok, & fortunately only twisted her ankle.  I could go back in time [in my mind of course], but with the frost, fog & glare of the sunrise, I still wouldn’t see her.  I braked immediately when I heard her scream.  Then she rolled over the front bumper.  Worst.Day.Ever.  Exhibit A, why I cannot stand careless drivers – you just have no idea…even when you are careful.

3.  This always makes me cry…like big, sobbing tears of joy.

<object style=”height: 390px; width: 640px”><param name=”movie” value=”http://www.youtube.com/v/oiGKWoJi5qM?version=3″><param name=”allowFullScreen” value=”true”><param name=”allowScriptAccess” value=”always”></object>

4.  I was 25 when I first stepped onto an airplane.  My first trip?  To Thailand with Dave on our honeymoon.  Nothing like a nice 16-hour flight to break you in.

5.  I am truly a small, town girl.  I had classes at the university with as many students as my hometown’s population, which is less than 300 last I checked.

6.  When I was a child, I wanted to be a marine biologist when I grew up.  I even wrote a book in second grade about various sea creatures just for fun.  My ocean experience is limited to a ferry from Seattle across the inlet & kayaking along Thailand’s coast, yet some days, I still long for that little girl’s dream.

7.  I was two years out of high school before I learned what it was to have a true girl-friend.  It turned out not all women were cruel & driven to destroy.  In recent years I have discovered beautiful, kind, loving women all over the world, in life & in our little blogasphere.  My life has been blessed & enriched by your friendships.

*I have been wanting to add my own blogroll to the site for awhile.  This was the perfect chance for me to showcase the blogs I love to visit.  I will finish it over the weekend, so expect to see this page by Monday.  Thanks for being patient & bearing with me!

Enjoy your weekend — I’m off to Albuquerque for a girls’ trip!

~

Tagged: , ,

§ 2 Responses to With Style?

  • Julia says:

    You are so deserving of the award! I think it made it even better that I got to read these things later, and not when I was reading them about everyone else 🙂

    I can relate to the having very few girl friends. I have two older brothers and grew up wanting to be like them and not understanding how girls could be so “evil” as you so accurately put it. I’m glad that we’ve both found great women to have friendships with.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading With Style? at ARoadMoreBalanced.

meta

