Pickled Pink

17 Thu, 2011 § 6 Comments

I have longed for these beauties to fall into my hands.

I scoured farmer’s market each week in SLC last season hoping to catch a glimpse.  When I finally spotted pretty little watermelon radishes a couple weeks ago at New Frontiers, I was giddy.

Raw, they had a fresh, peppery crispness; most of these guys ended up pickled though.

When made fresh & properly fermented, pickles are not only a yummy treat but can be nourishing as well, full of healthy enzymes that aid in digestion.  Our favorite store-bought brand is Bubbies, but I also like to make my own.  I have yet to pickle cucumbers because I haven’t been able to tear myself away from radishes; I think I am finally ready to branch out.

Making your own pickles puts you in control of all the ingredients & cuts down on waste from packaging.  The list of supplies is short!  All you need:

  • Clean, glass jar
  • Cheese cloth
  • A rubber band
  • Water
  • Vinegar [of choice]
  • Vegetable [of choice], sliced thinly

Place your vegetable slices in the jar & cover with a water:vinegar mixture of 1 parts vinegar to 4 parts water.  Place a square of cheese cloth over the top & secure it with the rubber band.  Leave on the counter 1 – 3 days.  Replace the cheese cloth with a secure lid & keep in the fridge up to 10 days.

I usually rinse them before eating because they can be a bit overly salty.

While I really like these, Dave was not a fan of this version; umeboshi vinegar can be a bit harsh.  I will try again with a milder vinegar – maybe apple cider — & carrots perhaps.  Every since Faith pickled carrots with rosemary, I can’t stop thinking about them.   Yes, that is definitely on my list.

Also on my list:

strengthening my triceps for all the crazy, pressing, “mantling” moves I’ve been attempting on the rock around here.  Wednesday’s 5am workout had to include weights, but I also wanted to get my heart rate up & work my core.

Combo Workout it is!

HIIT ~ 4 rounds = 4 minutes: 10 seconds “rest”; 50 seconds maximum effort

  1. Ball Pikes ~ 24 / 26 / 27
  2. Low Jacks ~ 47 / 51 / 47
  3. Ball Pikes ~ 20 / 25 / 20
  4. Low Jacks ~ 44 / 45 / 46
  • Shoulder Extensions [side & front] x 15 each [with 5#s]
  • One-Arm Tricep Extensions x 10 each side [with 10#]

Repeat full set twice = 3 times total.

This looks easy.  It’s not.  My core, hip flexors, shoulders & triceps were ALL fatigued by the end.  Pushing out the last set was not easy.  But if it’s not hard, it’s hardly worth it.

~

Do you make your own pickles?

Do you have any specific strengthening goals?

Tagged: , , , ,

§ 6 Responses to Pickled Pink

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Pickled Pink at ARoadMoreBalanced.

meta

