Quatro Obsession

5 Sat, 2011 § 6 Comments

I did not want to…

I had the motivation…

but no energy.

I even laid on the weight room bench for several minutes & thought about falling asleep while Dave worked out.  I am not proud to admit this.

I have not been feeling great this week; I think it is just my…well…anyway, I hope I am not coming down with anything.  I have definitely not been getting enough sleep, & it is catching up with me.  Sometimes your body just needs rest — BUT

exercise boosts your immune system, so I kicked it into gear with an on-the-fly workout.*

High Intensity Interval Training using body weight exercises & the treadmill executed around 4 minute segments, which just happened.

I did each exercise for 4 minutes total before moving to the next = 6 rounds each: 10 second rest, 30 seconds maximum effort.

BODY WEIGHT HIIT

  • Dips @ the dip station
  • Skater Lunges with hop & knee up [alternate sides between sets]
  • Burpees [true burpees with full push up & jump]
  • Hanging Knee Raises on the dip station

I finished off by joining Dave on the treadmill for a 4-minute splits run.  Splits & intervals are the only way I can run on a treadmill; otherwise…boring.  I do not consider myself a runner by the way.

SPLITS [this would be considered a split right?]

  • Speed 7 ~ 60 seconds
  • Speed 8 ~ 60 seconds
  • Speed 9 ~ 60 seconds
  • Speed 9.5 ~ 15 seconds
  • Speed 10 ~ 15 seconds

Followed by a 4-minute “cool down” of a fast-paced-Speed 4-walk at an Incline of 4.

Actual cool down: decreased speed & incline equally every minute for the last four minutes ~ 3.5, 3, 2.5, 2.

Stretched. Aww.

The sweat was worth it.  It took me a second to find my land legs.  Funny how the treadmill does that.

Apparently 4 is the number of the day.  Last night my pizza had 4 toppings too — wait, scratch that — Dave & Marisa had yummy sun-dried tomatoes & artichoke hearts I added last second to kick it up a notch.  Glad I did.  I piled caramelized onions, mizuna greens, mushrooms, thyme, a few sun-dried tomatoes & artichoke hearts on pre-made spelt & sprouted grains crust.  Once out of the oven, I drizzled each slice with a little truffle oil & sprinkled with a dash of sea salt.  Pizza nights rock.

Now we are hitting Priest Draw to boulder.  Earlier I thought I would take blankets & an extra pad & curl up while Dave climbed, but maybe I will make a goal to send a V4 — wait, we are hitting the Bat Cave — scratch that too.

*Always warm up for ~5 minutes before working out.  Mine varies but usually includes 30 seconds each of walking in place high knees, jumping jacks, running in place high knees, heels to butt, lubricating various joints with unloaded movement, arm circles, etc, followed by a couple, short, light stretches.  My true stretching follows my workout.

~

What are you doing this weekend?  How do you decide whether to push through with a workout when you are feeling sub par?

Tagged: , ,

§ 6 Responses to Quatro Obsession

  • Ashley says:

    Awesome workout! Makes me want to put down my books and get sweating! Brad and I worked out yesterday with 10/30 HIIT. We were drenched and had a really fun time pushing each other together. I think I’m going to try doing a HIIT workout today with sliders (the furniture sliders). I have a dinner party tonight so want to time it to workout, shower, and head out the door. I have a hour 1/2 boxing session tomorrow so I don’t want to overdue it today but I need to do something! I’ve never boxed before–should be interesting!!

    I often air on the sleep side if I am feeling rundown or pick an easier workout. Working out does boost your immune system, but if you are feeling like you are getting a cold I’d air more on the side of a lighter workout and rest. You don’t want to push your body too far. Hopefully you aren’t getting sick though and have just been ‘energy under-the-weather’!

    OK–thanks for the study break–back to the kidneys! Love you.

    • Allie says:

      I have always wanted to box! Can’t wait to hear about it. I agree light exercise is often best when feeling under…though when really sick, rest is preferable to not stress your body.
      Good luck on the kidneys!

  • Natalie says:

    Your workout looks awesome! I’m glad you shared. Um, I want pizza night at your house…it looks incredible, seriously.

    I think you would call your actual time for each lap your “split”, and what you listed your “interval speed”.

    I hope you had a great weekend!!

  • Julia says:

    Did you make the pizza crust yourself? I’m looking for a good recipe 🙂
    Great job on the workout!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Quatro Obsession at ARoadMoreBalanced.

meta

