A Little Worried

2 Wed, 2011 § 9 Comments

Yesterday was rough.  I nearly froze walking to/from work, I missed the bus home 😦 & was welcomed by a lovely accident Eisley left on the spare bathroom [fortunately hard] floor near the toilet…it was as if she knew.

Dave is amazing & offered to take on cleanup duty while I walked the naughty girl.  Honestly, we are not going to [fully]blame her.  We recently [meaning yesterday], increased her calorie intake by quite a significant amount because she has been losing weight — even though I feed her just over the recommended serving.  Could I really expect her tummy not to be upset while it adjusts to the increased digestion?  Was it reasonable to think she could hold it 8 hours?

Apparently not.

I learned; so this morning I was up at 5am walking her so she could do her business, eat then do her business again at 7am before we left.  Phew!  Cross your fingers with me.

[David Finch]

She is still adorable.

At her checkup on Monday, I learned she has lost nearly 2 pounds since we moved!!  Already a tiny, wiry little thing, every pound is vital.  Guess she has a metabolism like her dad. 😉  We will increase her calorie intake for a couple weeks to see if that helps; otherwise, we will have to draw blood to test for deficiencies. 😦  I feel like such a bad mommy.  I promise I am not starving my girl.

~

Have you ever had a pet lose weight?  What do you feed your dog?  [We have been using EVO]

Tagged:

§ 9 Responses to A Little Worried

  • ashley says:

    Sorry love…i know how much one can worry over pets! My dogs have not lost too much weight…quite the opposite problem. Green bean diet for my pups several times! I think if you buff up her food she should be OK. It may be from the stress of moving into a new home and then adjusting to the new schedules of you guys both working. Hopefully it is nothing more than that. I’ve heard great things about EVO. I use VERUS http://www.veruspetfoods.com/ and have really like that for them. Hope she starts feeling better and doesn’t have any more accidents!

  • Julia says:

    Aww poor Eis and poor you.
    Sounds like a rough day, but I’m sure you’ll both bounce back.
    Tomorrow will be a better day!

  • Natalie says:

    No, we have the opposite problem! Zoey will eat anything/everything and rarely has trouble digesting food. We switched her food to EVO about two years ago and she responded really well. I wonder if you could try giving her more treats throughout the day…like peanut butter.

    You’re not a bad mommy, you can’t know what to do! Don’t worry 😦

    I hope she starts feeling better and that you don’t miss the bus…that’s the WORST!

    • Allie says:

      Eisley will eat anything & everything too, but apparently it’s because she is was starving!! She loves PB, so that’s a great idea & thanks for the reassurance.
      Missing the bus IS the worst, especially when the windchill is in the negatives….UGH.

  • Candy says:

    Hi, I am a new reader of yours, (love your blog!) but wanted to ask, how old is Eisley? I used to be a veterinary technician so anything to do with pets hits close to home for me. If your dog is young, chances are it’s just a energy input/output imbalance, but for an older dog, it could be many things, and I would definitely recommend some bloodwork be done. (We have a 6 month old puppy and feed him Canidae, which is a great food.) I hope everything is okay!

    • Allie says:

      Thank you & thank you!
      I think/hope it is just an energy input/output imbalance. She’s only ~20months old; we are very active, so she is as well. I was feeding her more than the recommended, but I guess I just have to feed her even more & figure out what works for her. She’s a little rescue pup we adopted at 5 months — part Iggy, part papillion, so she’s a wiry little bundle of energy.
      Thanks again for your input & for introducing yourself! 🙂

  • […] & body were zapped after quite the stressful week with the pup.  I did not realize how much Eisley’s anxiety had taken its toll, but I have been pretty foggy.  I hope I can concentrate come […]

  • […] was having such a difficult time adjusting to me working full time, I decided I needed to find someone to check in on her during the days she is alone.  Rather than […]

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading A Little Worried at ARoadMoreBalanced.

meta

