Start the Work-Week Right

23 Sun, 2011 § 7 Comments

You know I am crazy & will sometimes wake at 4:30 to get a workout in before catching the bus.  Some mornings this does not happen though, so I like to fit a lunch workout into my day.   I might go for a short run, hit the climbing gym for an hour, fit in a playground workout at the nearest park or just go for a walk — my deodorant has been keeping up too. 😉  Even if I do get in my 4:30am workout, I love breaking up my day with movement & fresh air during my lunch break…even if it just means walking around downtown.

During your lunch break or in between classes consider doing any of the following:

  • Go for a run
  • Find the nearest park or school & do a workout using the playground equipment.  Sometime I will do a full HIIT [high intensity interval training] workout; sometimes I just jog there & do sets of pull ups & hanging knees raises.
  • Walk around the block or window shop if you work near any quaint, local shops.
  • Is there is a gym nearby?  Drop in for a class you have never taken or lift weights.
  • Bike to/from work/school to relieve some of the stagnant feeling of sitting at a desk all day.
  • Balance your day out with a yoga class.  Check for lunch or specific weekday specials at a nearby studio.  There is a studio downtown offering $5 drop-in on Wednesdays I cannot wait to try this week.
  • Make a date with your camera.  It will get you moving a bit & switch up your mindset by stimulating those creative juices while you walk around.

[David Finch]

Whatever you do, love your body & love yourself by moving.

I promise it feels so much better than sitting in the break room.

~

How do you spend your lunch break?  Ever make it an “active” hour?

Tagged: ,

§ 7 Responses to Start the Work-Week Right

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Start the Work-Week Right at ARoadMoreBalanced.

meta

