“Sunshine” in January

18 Tue, 2011 § 1 Comment

I spend nearly 8 hours a day typing away on a computer.  I am going to be completely honest:  coming home & sitting in front of the screen is one of the last things I feel like doing.

Frankly, I am still figuring my work schedule out, prioritizing how I spend my time & trying to ensure I get enough rest.  I am still anxious to talk more about how I am loving my body but I do not want to just throw some words on the page tonight.

So bare with me, please keep coming back & add a little lot of color to brighten your own busy day.

Oranges in January?

I have never lived where citrus grows.  Though it is certainly not blooming in Flagstaff,  we are less than three hours from Phoenix.  Apparently they are blooming there, & a lovely, young women brought a bag of fresh oranges & lemons from her grandma’s trees to share with everyone at work!

Blood Oranges nonetheless,

& who doesn’t love having fresh lemon juice around to add to dishes?

Orange-Kissed Quinoa with Fennel & Apricots

A new favorite! I wanted to throw together a dish that was clean & flavorful. This was it.

  • 1 C quinoa, rinsed
  • 1.5 C water
  • small piece kombu
  • ½ fennel, cored & thinly sliced
  • 1 tsp dried sage

Combine in a pot, bring to a boil, cover & simmer ~20 minutes or until quinoa is cooked & water is absorbed, adding sage toward end of cooking time.  Discard kombu.

  • zest of 1 orange
  • ½ C dried apricots, chopped
  • ¼ C walnut pieces, toasted
  • generous [or not so generous ;)] pinch of sea salt

Toss the remaining ingredients with the quinoa.

Savor this burst of citrus sweetness amidst the brisk, January air.

~

When your free time is limited, what do find yourself doing most?  What do you find you cut out?

Tagged: , ,

§ One Response to “Sunshine” in January

  • Natalie says:

    Agreed! Sometimes it’s so hard to find any motivation to sit at a computer after being gone all day.

    When I have limited free time I always feel like I get nothing productive done…it drives me crazy!!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading “Sunshine” in January at ARoadMoreBalanced.

meta

