A Better Body Mentality

13 Thu, 2011 § 6 Comments

Today

I felt strong.  I felt healthy.  I felt good about my body.

I went to Vertical Relief, the sole climbing gym in Flagstaff, for the first time.  Dave & I took a break mid-day & spent our lunch hour bouldering; then we headed back in after Dave got off work for a couple hours more of climbing plastic.  The gym is…ok.  It is smaller & more expensive than what we had in any of the SLC gyms.  I guess that is why monopolies are not a great thing.

Even if the gym itself is not what we are used to, it is still a gym & it has been months since I have climbed.  Plus, they do have a horizontal roof which preps us for This.  I savored pulling myself up those walls until my skin gave way & ripped a lovely blister on the inside of my knuckle.  That’s a good sign to call it, especially when we plan on climbing this weekend.  It is supposed to be in the high 40s!  Wa-hoo!  How sad is it that that feels warm now? 😀

Post climbing snack was a pretty strange craving of raspberry kefir & spelt grain toast with avocado & paprika.

But you just have to listen to what your body wants.

I am listening to my body, treating it right & appreciating everything it can do.  Right now, I do not care what my body looks like.  My body is beautiful.  My body is strong.  It becomes more beautiful & stronger every day.

~

What makes your body beautiful?

Tagged: ,

§ 6 Responses to A Better Body Mentality

  • Stef says:

    Hello dear Allie,
    So the Bat Roof is RIDICULOUS!! What state & area is that in? Wicked! We just got back into the climbing gym as well & have been meeting up with folks, which is a great change of pace. Seems like the new year has been treating the two of you well & I will look forward to hearing from you~ Enjoy the warmth of the sun & joy of each new day!

  • Natalie says:

    First of all, I want that post climbing snack! What kind of spelt bread do you eat? My grams always used to eat avocado toast. It will forever remind me of her…

    I love your gratitude and appreciation for your body. Remember that always because that is what really matters.

    • Allie says:

      I was losing sight of that but am getting a handle on it again. People like you really help me remember what is important when it comes to my body & how I view it.
      We have been buying Rudi’s recently. We especially like the oat varieties & are always fans of spelt; I digest it better than straight wheat. We tried sourdough, but I’ve just become a fan of really grainy bread. Your grams knew what was awesome. 🙂

    • Allie Finch says:

      BTW, the kefir made me think of you. Thanks for reminding me.

  • ashley says:

    you’ve got some weird cravings girl! 🙂 Sorry to hear the gym is not as good as SLC but sounds like you’ll be able to make it work and climb outdoors when possible. Neat you guys get to escape for lunch breaks together again!!
    P.S. you’ve got a rockin’ strong body, get used to it.
    love you.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading A Better Body Mentality at ARoadMoreBalanced.

meta

