Let Time Weave

10 Mon, 2011 § 5 Comments

“There are times to cultivate & create, when you nurture your world & give birth to new ideas & ventures. There are times of flourishing & abundance, when life feels in full bloom, energized & expanding. And there are times of fruition, when things come to an end. They have reached their climax & must be harvested before they begin to fade.

And finally of course, there are times that are cold, & cutting & empty; times when the spring of new beginnings seems like a distant dream. Those rhythms in life are natural events. They weave into one another as day follows night, bringing, not messages of hope & fear, but messages of how things are.”

~Chögyam Trungpa

[photo by David Finch]

Long walks & thoughtful talks have my mind turning back to a place I always find peace & happiness.  I am anxious to share more of this with you, but now I need rest & to end the night on a contemplative note.  Once upon a time, Dave & I would share a short, daily quote from one of his favorite books, Glimpse After Glimpse, before we fell asleep each night.  I would like to start this again.

~

How do you end your day?  Do you ever read with your partner?

Tagged: , , , ,

§ 5 Responses to Let Time Weave

  • Ashley says:

    My day today is ending reading this in bed with a yummy light brown ale. 🙂 I just finished reading some behavior modification lectures for a standardized patient encounter we have tomorrow. I normally like to do something to wind down at night–although I did get a hot bath tonight to soak in!

    Brad and I tried to read together once recently…we read The Borrowers (one of his favorites growing up) long ago when we were 16–17 maybe–and really enjoyed it. This time we picked out Alice and Wonderland but we’ve been stuck on Ch 3 for the past several months. He falls asleep within a few pages! He won’t let me read it alone though so poor Alice is waiting by the nightstand.

    • Allie says:

      😀 poor Alice. A bath sounds nice, especially with some nice lavender oil; I haven’t done that in years. A light brown ale, eh? There is a local AZ brewery that has a nut brown ale I really enjoy. I have an interesting brew in the fridge with coriander in it which I am anxious to try. The mood just hasn’t hit to pop it open yet. Are there a lot of good local breweries near/in DC?

  • Natalie says:

    I used to end the day with a power thought card that I would reat outloud. This post reminds me that I need to do it again!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Let Time Weave at ARoadMoreBalanced.

meta

