Stroll Through the Music

14 Tue, 2010 § 5 Comments

Culture drew us here; so it was fitting our last night in Prescott was Acker Night, filled with the musical culture of the community.

The locals call it Acker Walk.

I referred to it as the music stroll, because it reminded me of an [art]gallery stroll in a way.

Each shop [over 100 local businesses!] showcased a different artist or band.  100% of tips went toward raising funds for local youth performing arts programs.

It was a perfect excuse to get out, attempt to socialize, window shop, enjoy music & hot drinks & connect with the community — oh, & take the cameras for a spin & fiddle with night shots.  [That’s my excuse for the “lower quality” photos by the way.]

Each shop window had something different to say;

I’ll let you decide what that is.

~

~

~

People were strolling.

Children were even roasting marshmallows near the sidewalk!

Photographers were prowling.

The tone of the evening ranged from window-watching classical

[I love violins.]

to rock-n-roll jam-outs to festive, street tap dancing.

You could chill to jazz or sway to folk.

Apparently there were even belly dancers & opera singers!  Alas, we didn’t make it to all of them.

One of our favorite performers of the evening,

The Denise Allen Band, wooed coffee drinkers with their blues & rock vibe.

Her voice was  s e n s a t i o n a l.

Another lovely lady behind glass I couldn’t tear myself away from…

I Am Tamela.

Wow.

I loved her stage presence.  I loved her sound.

I don’t even know how to describe it; all I could say was “I want to be her friend”, which Christine got quite the kick out of.

The restaurant was even smart kind enough to put a speaker system outside so you could hear her from the sidewalk if you weren’t fortunate enough to be inside.

I’m glad they did.

~

Any fun traditions in your town that highlight community culture?!

Tagged: , , ,

§ 5 Responses to Stroll Through the Music

  • Christine says:

    That was a great night!! So much fun, and so much good music. And you didn’t even mention all the admirers and friends that Eisley made. 🙂 Already looking forward to it next year!

    • Allie Finch says:

      I figure it’s a given Eisley always finds admirers. 😉
      Apparently the line at the Elk’s was for the popular Jug Band…a group that attracts a devoted crowd like that I’d be interested to hear sometime.

  • Natalie says:

    That looks like such a wonderful way to celebrate your last night in Prescott. I love live music and art! Our town does “final Fridays” where local artists have openings in different locations downtown. You can just walk from place to place looking at the collections. It’s a blast!

  • Aby says:

    That looks like so much fun! I wish that we had things like that around here, but I’ve never heard of anything. We have a couple of downtown festivals each year, but I’ve never made it to one… maybe I’ll try to get to one this next year!

    • Allie says:

      You should check out the festivals. I love when communities do things like this…you feel so connected even if you don’t really meet people — as long as we take the pup along, we always meet people though. 😉

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Stroll Through the Music at ARoadMoreBalanced.

meta

