Tink Tink Tink

9 Thu, 2010 § 4 Comments

Dave loves wind chimes.

When I saw this awesome hanging planter in my favorite consignment store in SLC, I knew exactly what I wanted to do with it.

Getting my  hands on chimes was more difficult than I thought it would be.  I took these from a broken wind chime I finally found on sale at Lowe’s of all places.

I chose simple, elegant beads that would reflect the light & create the perfect…TING.

It turned out just like I envisioned.

From that spark of inspiration when I first glanced the planter to carefully selecting each bead to painstakingly lovingly tying each knot this project was all about the person I was giving it to.

Dave loves that something as powerful as the wind can be reflected in the simple & beautiful sound of chimes.  That is what I hoped to embrace, & he was in my thoughts throughout the entire process.

That is what made this gift so special…plus it held a pretty fern. 😉

Hopefully, he enjoyed it.

~

I wanted to share it with you after a new friend I met through the blog asked if there were any favorite gifts I had made. Now I’d like to hear about any special gifts you’ve made for someone. Tell us about them here in the comments or link to your own post.

I’m also looking for a little inspiration as the holidays approach…I’ve hit a bit of a lull.

Tagged: ,

§ 4 Responses to Tink Tink Tink

  • Stef says:

    Love the wind chime! Nice handy work I must say!! It’s a wonderful idea for a gift, especially since it can be enjoyed year-round!

    Last year, I made my Mom a new apron. She wears them quite often cooking holiday & special occasion meals, but hers have definitely seen some better days! I went & choose some fabric I thought she’d like, found a cute updated pattern for an apron & ta-da! It came our really nice & I modified the pattern to make it a little more special & functional for her. She loved it! We’ll see what this year has to bring~

    • Allie says:

      A custom apron! Of course she loved it. I wish I sewed, but I’m pretty skill-less in that department. Fortunately my sister is becoming quite the seamstress. I can’t wait to hear what you do for her for Christmas.

  • Natalie says:

    I absolutely LOVE wind chimes, but have never even thought to make them myself! In our old house we could lay in bed and hear the chimes, it was so peaceful.

    I wish I could give some good suggestions for homemade Christmas gifts, but mine have always been scarves and food gifts…I’m no help there!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Tink Tink Tink at ARoadMoreBalanced.

meta

