I Found One

20 Wed, 2010 § 4 Comments

Annoyed by the deceptiveness of the name of our current street — Quailview Loop — I was convinced there were no quail here

until tonight 🙂

Happiest moment all day.

It didn’t even matter that dinner would be served late & not exactly what I had planned.

I have little bopping quail to humor my walks again.

~

I hope you found something beautiful today as well

or at least something delicious 😉

Braised Lebanese Eggplant with Chickpeas

Adapted from a recipe in Fitness Magazine

6 servings

  • 2 T EVOO

Heat in a dutch oven or large pot or deep pan over med-high heat.

  • 1 large Onion, diced

Add & saute ~7 minutes, until soft.

  • 1 large Eggplant or 6 small, cut into 2-inch pieces

Stir in.
Cook 5 minutes, until Eggplant begins to brown.

  • 2 cloves Garlic, minced
  • ½ tsp ground All Spice
  • ¼ tsp ground Cumin
  • 1 can Tomato Sauce
  • dash of dried Basil &/or a Bay Leaf
  • 1 T Red Wine

Stir in & bring to a simmer.

Reduce heat to medium & simmer 5 minutes.

Remove from heat.

Stir in:

  • 2/3 C Water
  • 2 C cooked Chickpeas
  • S&P

Transfer to a slow cooker on low for 2-4 hours until the eggplant is tender.

[you can also transfer it to a preheated 325*F oven for 45-50 minutes, covered, if using a dutch oven.]

Years ago, this was one of my first experiences with eggplant, & I absolutely fell in love.  It just sort of falls apart in your mouth…marrying with the all spice perfectly.

It was meant to be served in grilled spaghetti squash bowls…but alas, due to an empty propane tank & a little misunderstanding, we will just have to dress our bowls up with something else tomorrow.

~

Tagged: , , , ,

§ 4 Responses to I Found One

  • Christine says:

    I’m surprised it’s taken this long to see any quail! I usually see them at least once a day – they like to build their nests under the junipers in the backyard, so you can often see them running around back there, babies in tow. Although Eisley may have had a hand in their shyness at the moment. 🙂 Dinner looked and smelled great – wish I was up to trying some of it!

    • Allie says:

      What? Eisley wouldn’t scare them off 😉 If only they knew she just wants to play. I almost asked you about the quail but didn’t want to hear & have to face they weren’t here. I am so happy they are.

  • […] with fruit [or squash] & nut butter for breakfast.  2. I also cooked plenty of chickpeas for Braised Lebanese Eggplant & had extra legumes for topping salads & roasting as climbing snacks.  3. The rest of the […]

  • […] have found myself making large batches of favorites for lunches throughout the week, prepping dinners like casseroles, stuffed peppers [that end up […]

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading I Found One at ARoadMoreBalanced.

meta

