It’s All About Intention

8 Fri, 2010 § 2 Comments

& remaining mindful of it.

~

In the Healthy Living blog realm, you walk a fine line between simply blogging about exercise, food & health & harboring — or at least portraying — an unhealthy obsession with exercise, food & weight.  This is not big news to the blog world.

It did come as a shock to many however, when early this week, one ladymag decided to rip six popular bloggers to shreds.

While the article obviously spun a preconceived agenda, seriously taking quotes & examples out of context to fit the story’s slant,…it brings up valid concerns…that have crossed the minds of many in the blogasphere but none had really dared raise.

Now, there are a lot of good conversations taking place [here & here as well].  Hopefully these will prompt mindful actions [= part of “the solution”] & not just keep stirring the drama pot.

I am not going to debate, defend or even dissect the valid concerns that arose.

As I learned about the incident, read over the article & responses to it, I recognized its misconstrued nature; but what would it look like to “outsiders”?  One phrase from Rachel at Hollaback Health struck me:

“maybe we’re just too in it to see it when we read it, or if we do it ourselves.”

This made me step back & ask:

What is the intention of my blog?

How do I make sure this is accurately portrayed?

Evaluating this may be a better use of energy for bloggers than sending nasty, hate-emails to Marie Claire.

Though my blog is “small” with modest traffic, I absolutely care about my readers.  Even if only one reader were to stop by today, it would make me smile.  I am happy about every view my pages receive & cannot help but picture the individuals stopping by & wonder what brought you to my little corner [& always check out your blogs].  Imagine my excitement over comment notices — woot! woot!

A.Road.More.Balanced is an outlet for me but obviously it is here for others as well.  I am posting it publicly via the amazing web, aren’t I?  I care about those who cross my path; it’s important you know my intention.

This outlet is a means of expression for me.  I am still discovering my own blogging style & overcoming the fear of releasing my voice onto the pages.

It is a place to talk about life & passions, one of them being food.  This is not a food journal; though many choose to share every meal every day, it is not the format that fit for me.  I love sharing favored meals & recipes; this blog is encouraging me to explore my own creativity in the kitchen more & more.

Another passion is physical exertion, whether by rock climbing, biking, kayaking, hitting the weights or flowing through yoga.  I have my own performance/climbing goals which are not centered around physical appearance [I would obviously be lying to say looks are not part of it though]; & I hope you’ll stick around as I talk about this more in future posts &/or browse through some of my Body Image or Self Worth posts to see where I am coming from.

My mind is often consumed by thoughts of food & “sweating”, but not only .  This is also a place to share ideas & insights, which are constantly evolving & growing.  It is not meant to convert, but offer my perspective while you seek the healthiest — & happiest — choices for you.  If you find inspiration here, Great!  If you feel the need to call me out, I hope you do. 😉

Finally, this is a place to meet people & make friends.  I hope we engage in discussions about everything from life, passions, struggles to every day musings.  I am excited to learn from others’ views & perspectives.  I look forward to meeting you & getting to know you.  I hope you enjoy my company along this Road. 🙂

Shall we move onto a culinary short-coming opportunity to grow?

These cupcakes do indeed fall short, but not in the way you are thinking. 😉

Browned Butter Cupcakes with Maple-Kissed Lemon Glaze

Inspired by Sheena’s cupcakes, I kind of created my own.  She’s right; it is “just what Fall calls for”…the flavor of browned butter is so warm & inviting.

it.is.perfect.

…but…

Mine only makes 10 small cupcakes ?? HUH

I know.  Did I mention I invented my recipe?  Did I mention I am completely intimidated by creating baking recipes?  Cooking = breezy, throw a little of this with a little of that & presto-yummy-o.  Baking: “mud” somehow = a delicious cake…or not.  Pretty amazing & totally scary.

I should 1. hold off, 2. perfect, 3. then present

This is part of the blogging experience for me: stretching my culinary whims.

AND they are quite amazing, especially with the glaze.  AND I have faith that many of you are total pros & will magically create a full dozen. 🙂  Maybe you will teach me your magic.  What is the blogging community for if not to come to the aid of each other, right?

My thought: next time add ½ cup more flour & adjust the liquid to an equal percentage.  Am I right?

Browned Butter Cupcakes

  • 6T Browned [Earth Balance]Butter
I am no expert at browning butter,  but claimed as Sheena’s “favorite butter”, I trust her expertise.  Her instructions are spot on.
To brown butter:
Heat pan on medium heat.
Cut butter into pieces & melt in pan.
Stir continuously. Butter will foam up.
After foam subsides, small brown flecks will start to appear in bottom of pan.
Continue stirring until butter has reached a nice brown color & nutty aroma.
When you want to lick the spoon, you know it’s ready. 

  • 2/3 C Agave
  • 2 “Flax”eggs [2T Flax meal in 6T warm water, allow to thicken ~10min.]
  • ¼ C Almond Milk
  • ½ tsp Vanilla
  • Combine agave & “flax”eggs
  • Stir in browned butter, milk & vanilla
  • 1½ C White Spelt Flour [*If I had noticed the whole wheat pastry flour lurking in my pantry, I would have used that.]
  • 1 1/8 tsp Baking Powder
  • Combine flour & powder
  • Stir into wet ingredients, careful not to over mix
  • Pour into prepared muffin tin
  • Bake at 350*F ~18-22 minutes [mine baked ~20]
  • Cool completely

Maple-Kissed Lemon Glaze

  • 3T fresh Lemon Juice
  • 3T Maple
  • ½ tsp Arrowroot Powder [kuzu or cornstarch will work as well]
  • Combine lemon juice & maple syrup in a small saucepan over medium heat.
  • Add the arrowroot dissolved in a bit of water [I forgot to dissolve it in water & nothing was harmed ;)].
  • Stirring constantly, slowly bring to a boil.
  • Simmer ~1 minute.
  • Remove from heat & it will thicken slightly more.
  • Cool completely [or not] & drizzle over cupcakes.

Tagged: , , ,

§ 2 Responses to It’s All About Intention

  • I loved reading your thoughts on why you blog and your intentions. I relate to many of them. 🙂

    • Allie says:

      Thanks Tina~
      Even though my blog is still REALLY young, I wanted to step back & actually think about what I’m doing. 😉
      p.s. I LOVE that you DO things with your beautiful family like go for walks & enjoy the fair. And…don’t be so hard on yourself…you said it, balance. “Fair food” is ok every now & then; you don’t eat it every day, because you know you wouldn’t be happy. When you do indulge, enjoy it…because you may as well enjoy what you are doing. Maybe you can stir up a little motivation by taking some of your cravings & creating “healthier” versions using more “mindful ingredients & whole foods”.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading It’s All About Intention at ARoadMoreBalanced.

meta

