Team Summer or Team Fall?

8 Wed, 2010 § 2 Comments

I am all about sunshine & bright blue skies.  Because I freeze E.A.S.I.L.Y, 80-90 degree days suit me just fine for the most part.  Flip flops, tank tops, sun-kissed hair & golden skin.  Who doesn’t love Summer?

Suddenly, a longing is creeping over me; I find myself craving winter squash, home-made bread & long walks in the cool air, haloed by red & golden leaves.  Cozy sweaters, pretty scarves & fun hats.  I cannot help but love Fall…

…until I step out the door for Eisley’s morning walk & a freezing chill attacks my body; then I long for Summer to stay just a little longer.

Honestly, I truly love these transitional moments in Mother Earth’s cycle.  Many of her bounty is at its peak now, but an approaching quietness can also be sensed.  My own body & mind still feel the go-go-go of Summer but have begun a battle of “laziness” as well.  Even my appetite is torn between Autumn heartiness & the light fair of Summer.

So I caved…more than once in the past couple weeks…& have been enjoying pumpkin in everything from VOO Parfaits to Green Monsters to banana-scramble sandwiches [eyebrow raise].

Eisley loves both banana & pumpkin.  I love both banana & pumpkin.  Why can we not love them together?

Pumpkin is actually really good for dog’s digestion.

It is not half bad for people either 😉  Rich in antioxidants & beta-carotene, pumpkin is an extremely nutrient-dense food.  It is low in fat & calories; high in potassium & contains amounts of niacin, vitamin E, calcium & iron worthy of mentioning.  Don’t forget the seeds!  Also known as pepitas, they are high in essential amino acids & zinc, as well as iron, protein & fiber.  Not bad at all so eat up!

I loved my banana-pumpkin combo in a slightly different way than Eisley ;).

With a fork, mash together about [I do not often measure]:

3 T Thick-Rolled Oats

2 T Rice or Almond Milk

half a Banana

1 T Pumpkin puree

½ tsp cinnamon, ¼ tsp nutmeg, ¼ tsp ginger

a dash of maple would also be good

You want it to be thick so it holds together for the most part.

  1. Heat coconut oil in a pan over medium heat.
  2. Add mixture to the pan & flatten slightly.
  3. Cook until slightly browned ~3-5 minutes
  4. Flip & brown other side.  [Do not stress if it falls apart; just “scramble” & enjoy]
  5. Plop onto your favorite toasted bread

[mine: WF’s in-house Seeduction loaf, lightly broiled]

My Banana-kin Scramble Sandwich stayed safe & warm in its tinfoil home during the bike commute to work,

where it was gobbled up between clients.  Mmm.

~

Whose team are you on?  Team Fall or Team Summer?

Tagged: , , , , ,

§ 2 Responses to Team Summer or Team Fall?

  • Christine says:

    Totally Team Fall for me! I love pumpkin and the leaves and the cool breezes. I’m so excited for the heat (and weeds) of summer to be gone!!!

  • bunderjue says:

    Dude, I’m totally on the side of summer. However, there is a calmness about fall, almost like a sigh of relief, or settling of dust that seems to insist that I breath a little deeper and look around to what I’ve accomplished. That part feels really nice. As for the food, if you ever decide to do a cooking class, I’ll be the first to sign up. For serious.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Team Summer or Team Fall? at ARoadMoreBalanced.

meta

