A Naked Pantry & Left to My Own Devices

20 Fri, 2010 § Leave a comment

I nearly succumbed to the temptation of eating primarily toast today, augmented with scraping the almond butter container clean with my last few dates & finishing off the green tea coconut ice cream straight from the pint.  However, I was determined to eat as healthily, clean & whole as possible today.  Problem is there is not much left in the way of produce around this place until our Bountiful Basket pickup tomorrow.

The fridge is all but bare; the pantry is fairly sparse.  As my tummy grumbles, I am left rummaging for any remaining scraps & pulling all the creative stops I can muster.  The result?  Some pretty bizarre, but surprisingly tasty, concoctions.

Morning Fuel:

Second-Time Broiled Sweet Potatoes

Roasted sweet potatoes are one of my absolute favorites: Mmm, slightly crispy outside, mushy inside.

  • Slice, toss with coconut oil & sea salt; bake on a sheet for about 35 minutes, turning to brown both sides if you would like.

Japanese sweet potatoes are ginormous, with taupe-colored skins.  These took nearly 50 minutes to roast.  I do not like the Japanese variety as much, but they are still tasty.  I always make plenty so I have leftovers the next day.  Last night’s leftovers became this morning’s whimsical experiment.  To reheat — & crisp & brown them a bit more — I broiled them about 12 inches from the heat for about 10 minutes on each side, until they were done to my liking.  FYI: “nearly” burnt — we will call it “blackened” — sweet pots taste reminiscent of roasted marshmallows, I am just saying. 😉

Often I will top these with almond butter, but I like to eat mostly fruit for breakfast lately & did not think plums would pair well, so…

Enter

Second-Time Broiled Sweet Potatoes a` la Mode

I topped the taters with Extra Whipped PB-Banana Soft Serve.

I liked it.  🙂

After yoga I decided I needed something green & had just enough spinach & rice milk for a Green Monster…but I wanted more texture & protein.

Meet

Green Monster Soup

I added a generous amount of cinnamon to a bowl of Ezekiel Sprouted Grain Cereal, then simply poured over my strawberry-spinach Green Monster & topped with pepitas [pumpkin seeds] & a chopped date.  It soaked nicely while I took photos.

Another random winner.

Lunch: the challenge.

I was craving bread but opted for a lighter favorite made from rice: a Mochi waffle.  Mmm, crispy exterior, chewy interior.  Sensing a pattern yet? 😀

  • To make waffle, cut ¼” slices [about 8] of mochi & lay cut-side down on preheated, ungreased waffle iron; close securely & cook until puffed & slightly crisp but not too hard & dry, about 3 minutes, or until your waffle iron signals it is done.  [Mine is pretty accurate].

Since this mochi was unflavored, eating it plain would have been boring & unsatisfying, but did I have anything that would make it savory & filling?  This is why, even if you are like me & generally cook your own beans, you keep at least one can on hand.  You never know when it may save the day.

On a total chance, I coarsely pureed about:

  • 1 C cooked Black Beans
  • 1 T fresh Lime Juice
  • a little cayenne
  • a little coriander
  • a dash of garlic powder

Good, but with quite the kick.  I must have been a little carried away with the cayenne.  I really wished I had had tomatoes or something to cool it down.  After some desperate searching, I came across a lonely cucumber in the bottom of the crisper.  Perfect.

Black Bean & Cucumber Mochi Waffle Appetizers

~

I cannot help but laugh while typing most of this post.  I am not suggesting you make these right away, though I really enjoyed them & certainly will replicate versions.  I simply wanted to show that even with my bare fridge, my tummy & health were saved by a little creativity & willingness to wing it. 😉

What are your healthy fall backs when the kitchen is nearing nakedness?  What random concoctions have you made out of desperation?  Share your hits & misses.

Tagged: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading A Naked Pantry & Left to My Own Devices at ARoadMoreBalanced.

meta

