Girl Scout Thin Mints, Move Over!

6 Fri, 2010 § 4 Comments

These taste better!

I promise.

& have a much kinder ingredient list.

Dave is my gauge on whether something is “actually” good, because I tend to have more outlandish taste than normal people.

His response to this cookie?

“This is………the best cookie I have ever had in my life.”

Ok then, I would say these passed the test 🙂

“These can be the only cookies you ever bake again.”

Uh, did he just tell me not to bake any of my other cookies?  😀  Ouch, sorry other cookies.  It is impossible to be offended while on this kind of chocolatey-goodness-high…with peppermint & vanilla bean still lingering on the taste buds.  What a surprising & magical combination!  After a response like that, I wish, oh I wish I could claim credit.  Alas, according to Ashley, they are from the Tassajara Cookbook.  How have I not heard of this cookbook?  Does anyone out there have it?  Tell me more.

I swapped a few ingredients, but nothing major enough to call it mine.  I opted for spelt because it feels so much better on my tummy than wheat; used an actual vanilla bean over extract; swapped out cocoa for carob powder & traded canola oil for coconut.  See, switching out a few ingredients here & there is not scary.  You just might end up with something equally — if not more — amazing; & if not, you learn.

Are you ready for the recipe yet?  Those faint of chocolate: steer clear of these babies.

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Mint Cookies

Makes about 3 dozen amazing cookies

1.  Preheat oven 350*F

2.  Combine dry ingredients [I used a whisk]:

  • 2 C White Spelt Flour
  • ¾ Cup Whole Wheat Pastry Flour
  • ¾ Cup Unsweetened Carob Powder [½ Cup if using Cocoa]
  • 1½ tsp Baking Powder
  • ½ tsp Fine Sea Salt

3.  Combine wet ingredients separately:

  • ½ Cup Coconut Oil [melted; thank you summer heat :)]
  • 1 Cup Maple Syrup
  • 1½ tsp Peppermint Extract
  • 1 Vanilla Bean [or 1 tsp Extract]

4.  Mix the dry ingredients into the wet ingredients until just combined.  [Spelt can become tough with over-mixing.]

5.  Stir in 1½ Cup Vegan Chocolate or Carob Chips [I used Grain-Malted Carob Chips].

6.  Spoon Tablespoonfuls onto a cookie sheet lined with parchment paper & flatten slightly.

7.  Bake 10-14 minutes.  Allow to cool for a few minutes on the sheet before moving to a wire rack…or your mouth — they are heavenly warm — how have I only had a few?  I am giving myself kudos for the self control.  I am so glad the rest survived until our weekend trip to the cabin.  I cannot wait to share these with my family; I think Dave is less excited ;).

Oh, did you notice these are vegan & contain no sugar?  Two elements I strive for in baked goods.  Do you think sweets cannot be that good without dairy, sugar or eggs?  I dare you to try these.

~

Enjoy your weekend!  Outdoor physical activity followed by cookies is the best combination!  or vice verse.  🙂

Tagged: , ,

§ 4 Responses to Girl Scout Thin Mints, Move Over!

  • Christine says:

    It’s a constant battle for me to convince people that baked goods can actually work and be GOOD while still vegan. I’m not a huge fan of chocolate, so I’m not sure if this recipe would be my exact thing, but I’m always glad to see new recipes to inspire people to bake with vegan ingredients. Thanks!!

  • ashley says:

    So i gave these cookies a try and I was a little disappointed 😦 The taste was very nice but the consistency of the dough was quite off. The first batch I made I ended up throwing out. The dough was super crumbly and was hard to even make into a tablespoon. I added some cream and milk for the next batch and these turned out much better–although still quite dry. I think if I make these again I’ll try adding in some applesauce. The taste was there though so I just have to figure out how to tweak them to make them moist! Thanks for getting me into the kitchen this weekend!!

    • Allie says:

      Oh so sad 😦 They were moist, dense & not dry at all on our end…until the plastic wrap didn’t get sealed completely one time, oops…maybe you’ll have to adjust the baking for lower altitude ?? Also, my batter was very thick & didn’t crumble; did you change anything?

  • […] deemed fudgy, gooey deliciousness with a bit of tart, pop-in-your-mouth fun.  They are on par with Dave’s other favorite. Jessica, you are brilliant & so gifted.  Thank you thank you thank […]

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Girl Scout Thin Mints, Move Over! at ARoadMoreBalanced.

meta

