Garlic Scapes, Finally!

13 Tue, 2010 § Leave a comment

You cannot imagine my excitement when I saw these beauties at the Farmer’s Market on Saturday!

What are they exactly?

Garlic Scapes.

As the familiar garlic bulb develops underground, a tiny shoot pops through, eventually becoming long & thin & glorious.  Harvesting the scape allows the plant to put more of its energy into the bulb–& gives us these beautiful wonders to accentuate culinary attempts.

They taste like, well, garlic but with a lot less bite.  Delicate & Delicious.

If you come across scapes–or are lucky enough to have your own garlic patch to harvest–rather than eying them with hesitation & fear, grab a handful & explore their flavor.  Add them to eggs, pasta, rice, stir-fries & dips.  I’m making pesto!

For my premier garlic scape experience, I added one to a simple Garlic Scape & Zucchini Frittata–made with local eggs of course 🙂

Fresh & simple–this is how I eat & cook–so I often don’t use exact measurements but rather cook by taste.  I encourage you to do the same.  Here are the basics for this frittata; but, use whatever vegetables you have on hand & prefer, use more egg (I like more vegetable than egg), different seasonings, fresh herbs–whatever you like–make it yours & have fun experimenting.  Mushrooms, asparagus–par boil first–spinach, artichoke hearts are all excellent.  I’ve found cooking frittatas slowly, using lower heat, keeps the eggs creamy & tender.

  • I sauteed 1 chopped garlic scape in EVOO in a small oven-safe skillet on low-medium for 5 minutes or so.
  • Added 1 small zucchini, sliced thinly with a vegetable peeler & sauteed until just tender yet still crisp.
  • Whisked together one whole egg & one egg white with a pinch of dried basil & sea salt, then poured over vegetables.
  • I left it over the stove for another minute or so.
  • Then popped it in a preheated oven at 350 degrees for 5-10 minutes, until set (to my preference).
  • I flipped on the broiler for the last couple minutes, because I enjoy my top & edges slightly browned.
  • Slid it onto a plate & enjoyed with toast.

What has been your most exciting Farmer’s Market, CSA or garden find recently?

Tagged: ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Garlic Scapes, Finally! at ARoadMoreBalanced.

meta

