Love For Earth

9 Wed, 2011 § 4 Comments

Taking your own bags to the grocery store is one of the easiest ways to reduce waste & threat to wild animals & birds, yet I still see many people leaving the store with arms loaded with paper & plastic bags.  :(

Hundreds of billions of plastic bags end up in our environment each year. Their production process consumes large amounts of non-renewable petroleum & uses toxic chemicals.  They are not biodegradable.  Only 1 to 3% of plastic bags are recycled.  The cost of recycling these is high with end results not all that appealing or profitable for recyclers.  Many bags sent to be recycled actually end up being shipped to countries where they can be cheaply incinerated under more lax environmental laws.

Reusing seems to be the only viable option.

I am really happy with my bags from Love For Earth & always get a lot of compliments when I am filling these lovely, mesh bags with fruit & veggies at the store or farmers’ market.  They come in various sizes & colors & secure easily with a drawstring closure [I think you might have to specify if you want the drawstring].  Easy to clean with soap & warm water, I simply hang them over the sink to dry quickly.  The mesh bags even store most produce in the fridge until you are ready to use it up.

My mom uses the mesh produce bags now.  She seems to be a fan too.

Kara is wonderful to work with, & her bags are beautiful, high quality & some of the most reasonably priced I have found.

She was even kind — & creative — enough to make a bunch of durable bags for my bulk grain & legume shopping.

The only thing these are missing is a drawstring.

They will certainly last — & be well used — for a long, long time.

~

Have you found any wonderful, reusable bags you recommend?

Tagged: , , , , ,

§ 4 Responses to Love For Earth

  • Dina says:

    That site is awesome! I am ordering some bags. I had been reusing the plastic produce bags inside my big reusable canvas bags but haven’t been happy with it. Plastic sucks. Anyway, I could make some fabric ones but the ones on Etsy are way cooler.

    I’m a big fan of reusable bags, washing them often and using crocheted dish rags to wash often too for washing up dishes. You could knit some produce bags as well or crochet some. I wonder if the scanners at the grocery store, if the nylon little bags from Etsy will be adding a lot of weight to the produce when you pay for it or if you just take it out first.

    Often I don’t use bags at all for produce, I just weigh it or give it to the clerk and then throw it in my big canvas bag and head home. That seems to work ok, occasionally things get crushed but it’s a small price to pay to not use the plastic bags.

    Thanks for you post! Even putting your snacks for work or school in a reusable bag is a fine idea instead of nasty plastic containers or plastic bags. who knows what kind of chemicals could leach into your food!

    • Allie says:

      I’m glad you like the bags –aren’t they cute?! The mesh ones add such nominal weight I don’t worry about it. The solid ones I use for bulk weigh about 0.04. Not much either, but cashiers are always happy to subtract the tare. Just weigh them the first time you take them to the store before adding anything to them. I leave a lot of my sturdy produce out of bags, like potatoes, onions, etc, as well; they survive & don’t stay in bags once I’m home anyway.

  • Natalie says:

    We use biodegradable poop bags from “poopbags.com”. I always feel so much better about picking up dog poo when I know we’re using those! I love those mesh produce bags.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Love For Earth at ARoadMoreBalanced.

meta

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

