It’s the Little Things

23 Wed, 2011 § 7 Comments

It is strange sleeping alone – well, I am not exactly alone.

[that's Eisley's little white-tipped nose...they are kissing]

I have become an Allie sandwich with Bodh-Eis bread.  These sweeties have sure softened the blow of my loneliness the last couple nights.

To show them how much they mean to me, I biked home yesterday during my lunch break to give them some love.  The act seemed small because my time with them was pretty short.  I would like to think this act is notable though & softened their lonely day.  My commute takes about 30 minutes in the morning, but happy anticipation pushed me home in 20.  This isn’t a leisurely stroll either; I’m cranking & have a decent climb over a hill that had slipped my mind.  They are worth it…their greetings makes it worth it too.

How on earth can I give Bodhi the attention he deserves with a needy pup in my face?  I try though.  After playing fetch with her for awhile, I distracted Eisley by letting her lick the skin off one hand while brushing Bodhi with the other.  :D

The little things have been on my mind.  I am recognizing & appreciating the small acts I do not normally notice on a day-to-day basis, like Dave always setting the alarm clock or turning on the space heater for me.  I mean, I am a big girl & can set my own clock, but honestly, I was a little paranoid it was not going to go off after I messed with it.

There are the big things too of course, like coming home to a clean – I mean immaculate – house.  We are both generally tidy people who prefer cleaning different areas, which makes us a great team.  If things are clean, I am good at keeping them clean…but the floors hadn’t been thoroughly cleaned since we moved in.  Confession: we have not replaced our vacuum yet & I am being picky about the dust mop I want, which is apparently out of stock indefinitely [or so it seems].  Christine was nice enough to drop off her vacuum & Swiffer before we left for Albuquerque, so Dave cleaned while I was gone – he vacuumed, organized, scrubbed & laundered.  Our home feels lighter & fresh.  I am simply happier because of it.

You know what else brings light, fresh & happy to mind now that we are in AZ?

Local oranges.

While I was away over the weekend, one of Dave’s Valentine gifts arrived, but he had no oranges.  He is the oj drinker of the house, & while I usually pass, it seems sad just sitting on the counter, so I will just have to break it in.  Oh what a life.

Nothing quite like fresh.  It just seems happier.

Cheers.

~

Open your eyes & heart today.  What small acts of love do you overlook?  Express your appreciation & make your own love known now!

Tagged: , , , , ,

§ 7 Responses to It’s the Little Things

  • I think the small things, those little things where just pure joy and happiness live, are what makes like beautiful. Cuddling on the bed with the dog after I get home from work. Making dinner and dancing around the kitchen while the husband washes dishes. Cuddling.

  • Natalie says:

    Your picture of Bodhi and Eisley kissing is adorable. All of your photos are vibrant and amazing! I’m obsessed with oranges right now although they’re not local unfortunately. I don’t think they grow citrus in Kansas :(

    I agree, you realize the little things when your partner is not there to do them! It will make you appreciate it even more when he’s back.

  • Julia says:

    I’m glad Eis and Bodhi (love that name by the way) are keeping you company while Dave is away.
    That was such a nice thing for you to ride home over lunch to snuggle with them – I’m sure it made a difference in their day :)

  • [...] One of them eats any & all plants I attempt to have — even mizuna left on the counter for mere minutes. [...]

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading It’s the Little Things at ARoadMoreBalanced.

meta

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

