The Good Foam [Homemade Almond Milk]

9 Wed, 2011 § 7 Comments

We like the taste of almond milk & the convenience of buying it – heck, we like the fact we have the option of buying this.  What I am not enjoying is throwing the packaging out every week.

So…we started making our own again, which is actually more delicious.  It lives in a cute, glass carafe in the fridge & will keep ~5 – 7 days.  I like the taste of the stuff from the store just fine, but it still tastes a little processed.  Fresh tastes, well, fresh — & the foam –

oh the foam!

  • 1 C almonds, soaked overnight to germinate
  • 3 C water

Rinse & strain almonds & combine with water in a blender & blend.  Pour through a cheese cloth into a container & squeeze all excess liquid from the almond pulp using the cheese cloth.  You can leave it at that or combine pulp & liquid & blend again for thicker, creamier almond milk.  I make ours with a small magic bullet, so it is triple & quadruple blended! :D

Save the pulp to sprinkle over salads, stir into cereal or morning porridge or try Dave’s favorite: bread chicken [or tofu or seitan I’m sure] with the shredded almond meal & pan fry.  Keep almond pulp in the fridge for ~5 days; it also freezes well if you are not going to use it within 5 days.

You can also add vanilla or cinnamon or cocoa, a sweetener, etc for more flavor, though I usually keep it plain.

I won’t lie.  Though worth it once made, Dave & I are both guilty of catching the lazy bug when it comes to grabbing soaked nuts from the fridge to whip up milk.  Some days it takes a couple lonely cookies to finally coax me into making a new batch.  I promise the thick & foamy result is worth the “hard work”.

~

What kind of milk do you drink?

Tagged: ,

§ 7 Responses to The Good Foam [Homemade Almond Milk]

  • Natalie says:

    Your description has me sold! I wonder how the price compares to purchased almond milk? Anything that I can store in the fridge in a cute carafe has me sold :)

    I have never purchased cheesecloth, but will now. I think almond pulp crusted chicken will be enough to entice Colin to drink it too!

    • Allie says:

      The price is relative we have realized. In SLC it was about the same unless almonds were on a killer deal; here, it is actually less expensive to make our own because non-dairy milks are pricey — everything is more pricey here…except our salaries…hmm… Take a measuring cup with you to the store next time & weigh 1 cup of almonds, which would give you 24 oz of milk & compare that to the store bought. Oh, yes & get a cute carafe. ;) And make Colin some chicken!

  • kristastes says:

    This is awesome, I would never think to make my own but I want to try now! P.S. did Lindsey send you your scarf yet?! If not I will remind her :)

  • robinmay* says:

    I always have raw almonds floating around for quick snacks, so I really have no excuse for not giving this a try. Unfortunately I’ve lately been on a WICKED soy milk kick. Like, I crave it morning, noon, and night. Not sure why, exactly, but I’m being patient with myself, as I’ve only recently eliminated so many foods from my diet. This one can stick around….for now ;)

    • Allie says:

      You should give almond milk a try…but it’s good to be patient & not overload yourself with too many restrictions — eating should be fun & about love! Thanks for the comment!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading The Good Foam [Homemade Almond Milk] at ARoadMoreBalanced.

meta

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

