Keepin’ It Clean

27 Thu, 2011 § 4 Comments

Convenient.  Gets the job done.  Disposes of the messy evidence.

No wonder we have a hard time letting go of paper towels.  We are trying though.  They are probably one of the biggest waste contributors & likely the easiest to give up –

because the alternatives work even better.

Inexpensive microfiber cloths are easy to find — I found a pack of 5 for $5 at Family Dollar — these stay in the kitchen, readily available when the moment hits.  They have worked great & obviously absorb even better than a paper towel.

Something that is not as seamless to get rid of are garbage bags/liners for the trash can.  It means we will be hauling the container out, but we have yet to make a trip out there since becoming more mindful of our waste…though we forgot to put it in the closed closet & even if you have a perfect little pup…if you leave the garbage out, she is going to string it all over the house get in it…

Not having a liner means wiping out the garbage can more often, but I don’t mind having a cleaner, more sanitary pail anyway.

Speaking of sanitary, I have never been a fan of sponges or replaceable scrub-brushes.  They sort of gross me out.  I have always used 100% cotton-yarn, handmade dishcloths.

My mom crocheted some for me when I first moved out & taught me to make them myself; I have also learned to knit them.  This cute flower-shaped one was actually crocheted by my grandma.  I love the way they work & the fact I just throw them in the wash to clean them.

I recently grabbed a set of Twist sponge blossoms for a little extra scrubbage, which gross me out less than typical sponges; though honestly I have only used it once.  You can wash it in the top rack of your dish washer.

Hand-washing dishes has changed quite a bit for me.  I realized we used wasted a lot of water with our usual method, so now I do what I have always had a hard time doing: fill the sink — even the rinse side which is something I learned from my father-in-law — I have always dreaded reaching into “dirty” dish water.  Oh well, I got over it.  I also almost always keep the stopper in to catch water when we wash our hands, rinse pots, pans, etc. & just place dishes in to soak [before adding it to the dishwasher] rather than constantly running the faucet to rinse.  I have even been holding onto a recipe for our own dishwasher detergent, which I will share as soon as I run out of our current.

Something I will share now to make up for all the dirty talk:

If you are unaware, I love chickpea flour.  When Ashley made Chickpea Bake, I had to try it.  I love the texture; it’s dense & most.  I left the curry out & did not really care for the garlicky flavor though, so I tried it again with my own twist & loved how it toyed between sweet & savory.

Here is my Cinnamon Basil variation, but check out her original recipe too.

  • 1 1/4 C chickpea flour
  • 1 C unsweetened almond milk
  • 1T unsweetened applesauce maple syrup
  • 1T safflower oil coconut oil [I melted the oil in my ~9x9 baking dish then poured it into the rest of the ingredients to mix.  I had my oil; the pan was greased!]
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1t curry
  • 1/2t garlic
  • 1/4 tsp ginger
  • few shakes of garam masala
  • 1 – 2 tsp basil [1 for subtle & sweeter; 2 for a stronger savory flavor]
  • 1/2 tsp sea salt

Combine dry ingredients; combine wet ingredients.

Mix together until just combined.

Bake at 375* for 30 minutes. [Ashley's baked for 40 minutes but mine didn't need that long, so check at 30.]

~

Have you ever baked with chickpea flour?

What are your favorite cleaning/waste reduction methods in the kitchen?

Tagged: , , , , ,

§ 4 Responses to Keepin’ It Clean

  • Natalie says:

    How weird, Colin and I were talking yesterday morning about the difference between using one of those half-sheets of a paper towel and the water it takes to wash one cloth napkin…I know, we’re total nerds! My mom used to make her dish rags too. We switched to Sal Suds brand dishsoap and it keeps all of our rags/sponges smelling nice.

    I’ve never used chickpea flour but I would probably love it…I do have some amaranth flour in my pantry, have you every baked with that? I wonder if it would substitute well?

    • Allie says:

      That’s funny…what did you decide?
      I have never heard of Sal Suds; I’ll have to check it out. We have amaranth flour & actually used it in our “wedding cake”. We made the lemon-poppy seed cakes [with some variations] from Kind Diet in mini bundt pans, & it turned out really good. We still have one in the freezer. ;)

  • [...] thing I have started stuffing in my lunch I grabbed when I bought microfiber cloths for the kitchen: a bright, coral microfiber cloth.  A set of two small [about the size of a regular wash cloth] [...]

  • [...] enjoyed this with rosemary & lavender socca & PERFECTLY roasted cauliflower.  I roasted small florets of cauliflower at 375*F in coconut [...]

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Keepin’ It Clean at ARoadMoreBalanced.

meta

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

